Protect the climate - home

2 degrees more – so what?

Climate protection at the local level

as part of the fight against poverty

European Union

© European Union

The European Union

Logo Europäische Union

The EU is a unique economic and political partnership between 28 European countries which account for a large part of the European continent.

It all began after the Second World War with the idea to avoid war by economically tying the countries of Europe together. This initially resulted in the foundation of the European Economic Community (ECC) in 1958 with six members. A growing number of member states have since then unfolded into a sizeable domestic market. The ECC ultimately became the European Union (EU) which covers all political fields including development cooperation and environmental protection. The foundation of the European Union are voluntarily and democratically agreed treaties by all member states.

For “promoting peace and reconciliation, democracy and human rights in Europe over six decades”, the European Union was awarded the Nobel Peace prize in 2012. It has helped to “transform Europe from a continent of war into a continent of peace”.


As part of the European Commission, the head office ‘Development and Cooperation - EuropeAid’ plans the EU-strategies for development cooperation in the common European interest. Through many projects and programs, they promote development cooperation worldwide. As a central point of contact, the institution provides first-hand information for stakeholders within and outside the EU.

Financial support for the educational project

The European Union funds the educational project. It contributes 75 per cent of the total costs.

  • Lateinamerika-Zentrum e.V. on facebook
  • Lateinamerika-Zentrum e.V. Youtube-Channel

European Union

European Union


Key data: EU


495 million


4 million km²

Member states


Official languages

Bulgarian, Croatian, Danish, German, English, Estonian, Finnish, French, Greek, Italian, Irish, Latvian, Lithuanian, Maltese, Dutch, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Schwedish, Slowak, Slowenian, Spanish, Czech and Hungarian

Source: European Union


You always want the latest news? Subscribe to our newsletter.

Suscribe to the newsletter » 



You want to make your voice heard?
Join the debate in the forum.

To the forum » 



What is your opinion on the topic?

Take the survey »